Pixie Slider

BLOG TOUR - SEBRING by KRISTEN ASHLEY + A Rock Chick Fairy ARC Review + Excerpt + Giveaway BOOK BLITZ - Blood, Milk & Chocolate – Part 2 by Cameron Jace + Excerpt + Giveaway BOOK BLITZ - Before Goodbye by Mimi Cross + Excerpt + Giveaway BOOK BLITZ - INTERLUDE by THERESA DALAYNE + GIVEAWAY BOOK BLITZ - Immurement by Norma Hinkens + Excerpt + Giveaway

Saturday, February 27, 2016

February 28th is #GreenIsland World Wide Live Twitter Chat! @Shawnayangryan @prhglobal

Hey, all! We are inviting you to join Green Island author, Shawna Yang Ryan's, live world wide chat on Twitter this Sunday, February 28th 2016. Below is the schedule of the twitter chat by timezone.

India - 2:30 PM IST 
UK - 9 AM GMT 
Europe - 10 AM CET, 11 AM EET 
Philippines - 5 PM PHT 
Taiwan - 5 PM CST 
Singapore - 5 PM SGT 

We will be having an international giveaway of a signed copy of Green Island too so stay tuned on Twitter and follow the hashtag #GreenIsland and twitter handles @Shawnayangryan and @phrglobal, as well as @bookaholicf! See you! xo

A stunning story of love, betrayal, and family, set against the backdrop of a changing Taiwan over the course of the twentieth century.

February 28, 1947: Trapped inside the family home amid an uprising that has rocked Taipei, Dr. Tsai delivers his youngest daughter, the unnamed narrator of Green Island, just after midnight as the city is plunged into martial law. In the following weeks, as the Chinese Nationalists act to crush the opposition, Dr. Tsai becomes one of the many thousands of people dragged away from their families and thrown into prison. His return, after more than a decade, is marked by alienation from his loved ones and para
noia among his community—conflicts that loom over the growing bond he forms with his youngest daughter. Years later, this troubled past follows her to the United States, where, as a mother and a wife, she too is forced to decide between what is right and what might save her family—the same choice she witnessed her father make many years before.

As the novel sweeps across six decades and two continents, the life of the narrator shadows the course of Taiwan’s history from the end of Japanese colonial rule to the decades under martial law and, finally, to Taiwan’s transformation into a democracy. But, above all, Green Island is a lush and lyrical story of a family and a nation grappling with the nuances of complicity and survival, raising the question: how far would you be willing to go for the ones you love?

No comments :

Post a Comment